03
Jul
11

The Shrine- Shrinemont, Orkney Springs, Virginia

One of the things about where I was in Virginia, is the Shrine at Shrinemont.

It is called the Shrine of Transfiguration

From Wikipedia Transfiguration (religion), a momentary transformation of a man or woman into someone having the aspect of the divine, such as the transformation of Enoch into an angel in the Book of Enoch

Interesting… I know that I felt different there. I talked to others that felt different there.

Nice.

The Shrine is made completely from rock and it has no roof!

Everything is green around it, it is just beautiful.

Walking in to the shrine there is a feeling of awe. Maybe it was just because I was by myself.

 

This is where everyone will sit.

 

This is in the aisles.

 

So is this. It felt like it too!

 

 

This surrounds the area, the birds sing, the air is clear, and the smell is wonderful. It is truly holy ground.

 

 

 

I turned and saw this.

The baptismal font is a rock where the Indians had ground corn.

 

 

 

 

There is a bell in the tower and that is all made of stone.

 

 

This is the view from the side.

I had been here to Shrinemont before and I had never taken the time to walk up to the shrine.

 

 

 

It is so beautiful.

 

 

Looking up at the taller cross from below it.

 

 

 

Both crosses at the tops of the Shrine.

 

 

 

This is a blessed space and you can feel it here. It is beautiful and of the earth. I am so glad I took the time.

 

This is a piece of mine that has a feel of this place.

2 Responses to “The Shrine- Shrinemont, Orkney Springs, Virginia”


  1. July 3, 2011 at 9:09 am

    It sounds so peaceful and beautiful. I hope I can go sometime.
    I should start a bucket list now! There are so many things to see and do!
    Hugs, Tina


Leave a Reply

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Marie’s Etsy Shop

Marie’s Etsy Hoarders Closet

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 56 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos