18
Nov
10

Butterflies are free

My hubby carries Ink Jet printable fabrics in his on-line store the Clay Factory (not just a clay store) and I have been dabbling.

He carries Silk, Cotton, and Organza.

I did some encaustic work with the silk and the silk disappears in the wax and the image is left.

Tres cool!

If you use the cotton the image is stronger and more defined. So if you put the cotton in the background and the silk floating in the wax over the top you will see the cotton behind.

I think this encaustic thing needs some more play time devoted to it.

I print on the cotton and have been stitching some of them on to felt. Please do not critique my stitch work, it definitely is not my forte. Practice does make proficient sometimes, so I will keep working on that.

I used Dover images for the butterflies and the black and white images in the background. I just wanted to test it out before I got too carried away with anything.

I am planning on making some sachets and some ornaments with this type of work. I am excited and it is something I can do in the evening.

I have some cute pictures of Madi that I want to make ornaments with.

I also want to make some sachets with my art work. I will keep you posted on my progress.

I just love how the cotton looks. I can imagine making face patches out of these for clothes. You can use a fusible webbing and then iron the patches on  and then do a decorative stitch around them.

It would be great if I knew how to quilt too. LOL!! I need another hobby!

I do though see something coming from the butterflies.

Fun stuff!

0 Responses to “Butterflies are free”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Marie’s Etsy Shop

Marie’s Etsy Hoarders Closet

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 56 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos