18
Mar
10

Iron Angels 1

I have been playing with something lately and I am obsessed and wanted to share.  I save my broken watches, I buy watch pieces, I collect small parts, and I love to look at them. I bought some when Amaco used to sell them. I have been doing this for years. I even bought some when my guild did a bulk buy on watch parts, twice. I thought to myself, why am I buying more of these? I have tons of them.

I feel my supply is very small now. How fast things can change. In the blink of an eye I went to a different attitude. I call them Iron angels.

 

I made this heart in the beginning of 2008

I like it, but????

 Until lately I have not done a very good job of incorporating them in to my pieces.

 

I feel this might have changed a bit. 

More to come.

6 Responses to “Iron Angels 1”


  1. March 19, 2010 at 12:17 am

    I love your iron angel, using the watch parts really gives them more dimension and as for your heart I love it, fantastic.

    Thank you for your comment about Renee, it made me smile and I needed to so again Thanks xxx

    • March 19, 2010 at 7:34 am

      Hey Dawn, thank you so much for your wonderful comment on my Iron angel. Boy howdy do they have to be strong.
      Life and living is just plain challenging sometimes, especially if you love hard. Renee is beauty in the challenge, none of us is doing well with losing her.
      You painted an awesome picture and you can look in those eyes all of the time now. Still more beauty coming from her.
      In your heart Renee will always be there, we all need to remember her valuable lessons and live them.
      Do you know about kj making a book of all our memories to give to Renee’s family? OPTIONS for a Better World is her blog, check that out, this is the post! http://karenjasper.blogspot.com/2010/03/renee-you.html
      Sorry to mention it, if you already know it.
      Love and hugs Dawn

  2. 3 nktrygg
    March 18, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    These are really cool. I never thought about adding small parts – it makes the items seem futuristic, almost a cyborg clay.

    I have a few books for making beads and other fancier items than the little characters that I’ve played with, but, wow, these really take the clay to a new art level.

    Nina.
    http://ntrygg.wordpress.com/2010/03/19/crafting-polymer-clay-characters/

    • March 19, 2010 at 7:52 am

      Hey Nina, Thank you so much. I can even bake these small parts in the oven. When the piece is baked, I check to make sure they are going to stay and if they come off, I glue them back in place. With things that may melt in the oven you make the indentation for them to go in the clay, pull them out, bake the piece, and then glue them there after they are baked.
      This is a style called steampunk here is the Wiki page http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steampunk
      You may also want to check out Christi Friesen http://www.cforiginals.net/ her newest book is about “steampunkery”. There are even some downloadable projects up on her website.
      Very fun stuff. I love the name cyborg clay, very good.
      I love your pieces Nina, you should give it a whirl again. I could just see the dragons in metal colors with gears, screws, and sprockets!
      Thanks for taking the time to comment on my blog, I love it.

      • 5 nktrygg
        March 19, 2010 at 11:16 pm

        cyborgons …dragborgs

        I am unsure what to call them……

        We have a monthly craft day where friends and family come on a drop in basis, and everyone does crafts.

        I haven’t done the clay in a while

        I’ve been doing more pastel drawing or chinese watercolour – which I have yet to post a blog about.

        • March 20, 2010 at 5:58 pm

          Dragborunks, LOL!!!
          That is awesome, you are going to have to bust out some clay and get everyone going!
          Looking forward to that blog.
          Have a wonderful weekend.


Leave a Reply

March 2010
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Marie’s Etsy Shop

Marie’s Etsy Hoarders Closet

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 56 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos